Details Create Success

image

Iv’e been in management now for a awhile. I’ve participated in group training, individual training, and I have been a mentor to a lot of people in my short career. If you’ve read my previous posts you know I get a lot of questions and a lot of emails. Not only about work but fantasy sports, and investing. Recently I received an email from a peer comparing my planning and preparation for projects to Bill Belihick. Naturally I was flattered.

Initially I thought this guy just wanted to do a little ass kissing. Then I thought about it. How can you truly be successful with out paying attention to detail. Details get left out of a lot of things. Planning is one of them. I tell the people I mentor all the time. It is impossible to plan for every mishap or road block you are going to come across. However if you think of 5-10 possible ones and plan for them your going to be successful. If you don’t then shame on you. Nothing ever goes 100% to plan.

If you fail to plan at all then your destined for failure and you better have a great relationship with whichever organization you just lost money and productivity for. If your playing fantasy sports you better have a good excuse for your wife and your kids.

Like anything else you have to pay attention to details. Who is hurt, who is undervalued, the over, under, and the weather conditions.

If your investing in a company how can possibly feel good about gambling on a company with a poor balance sheet, increased debt, and a terrible ceo?

I get told a lot that I am lucky. Luck has nothing to do with it. I do my homework and my research. I pay attention to the details, and yes that is what causes my success.

Leave a Reply

